Mean Beans & Other Brooklyn Flea Finds

Saturday was a magical spring day in NYC and the inaugural Brooklyn Flea of the season (in Fort Greene). The booths were a variety of hippie to hip, with the usual vintage clothing and ‘found’ treasures, but also  fresh new finds from newborn businesses – including beans!

Rick’s Picks – offering samples and special prices for the flea flockers, give all of their pickled picks a try – and be sure to take at least one home. My pick was a jar of mean beans (only $8 at the flea, $10.99 online) – a spicy addition to my brunch bloody mary – the leftover brine can also be reused to pickle thinly sliced carrots.

Crop To Cup – a Brooklyn based biz that works with farmers in Uganda to provide a selection of brew-able beans while supporting the livelihood of the Bagisu tribe. I imbibed a cup of their french pressed coffee for $2 for a java jumpstart to my day.

Kumquat Cupcakery – although not a bean, these petite cakes are completely adorable and oh-so-tasty; they really look as though they should be in a dollhouse for afternoon tea. Their small stature enables one to rationalize eating a cupcake morning, noon, and night – as well as snacking on a few between…. Keavy and the cupcakery offer over 17 flavors and honor custom orders, but bring just a few flavors to showcase at the Flea (I gobbled up a blueberry one) and at just a dollar for a mini-delight, my sugar craving was satiated and my wallet saved.

Visit the Brooklyn Flea each Saturday, with a unique selection of Indie vendors to visit up each time. Check out the website for new additions.

2 responses to “Mean Beans & Other Brooklyn Flea Finds

  1. thanks for the suggestions! been curious about the brooklyn flea – it’s just so far away from me 😦
    so glad you mentioned crop to cup! it’s run by a good friend of mine. think I might need to drag my keister out there

  2. Hi, nice post. I have been pondering this issue,so thanks for writing. I will certainly be subscribing to your site.

Leave a comment