Tag Archives: Saraswathi

Saraswathi in New York City 8-12 Sept 2010

K. Pattabhi Jois Ashtanga USA (KPJ USA) and Ashtanga Yoga New York (AYNY) are extremely happy to announce that Saraswathi Rangaswamy will be teaching one week of Ashtanga Yoga classes in New York City from September 8 – September 12, 2010. Please note that classes on 9/8 and 9/12 will be led classes, and the classes on 9/9, 9/10 and 9/11 will be Mysore style. Location TBA.

Additionally, September 11 is Saraswathi’s 69th birthday, and we will celebrate by throwing a birthday party for her at 7 pm, at AYNY, 430 Broome St., 2nd floor.

The daughter of the late Ashtanga Yoga master, Sri K. Patthabi Jois, Saraswathi began practicing yoga at the age of five. She was the first woman to teach coed yoga classes in Mysore, India, and she has been teaching yoga since 1967.


Advertisements

KPJAYI: new Jois Yoga Shala in Encinitas

Sharath, Saraswathi and Manju to teach in the new Jois Shala in Encinitas, California, from the 20th of August. From kpjayi.org:

NB!! Yoga Visa

Planning to study yoga in India? From now on you will need a yoga visa. Check out the latest news from the KPJ Ashtanga Yoga Institute in Mysore:

# From March 2010, all students coming to study at KPJAYI must enter India on a yoga visa, as required by Indian law. You may email shala@kpjayi.org for admission letters from our Institute to include with your visa application form to the Indian Embassy in your country. Upon arrival, students should follow the relevant registration formalities with the Foreigners Registration Office (FRO) in Mysore.

# Please note, according to Indian law: There should be gap of at least 2 months between two visits to India on tourist and other visas.

# For more information on visa and registration requirements, please refer to the Bureau of Immigration, Ministry of Home Affairs, India. They have published clear rules and instructions for foreigners coming to India.

KPJAYI April Newsletter

Guruji og Sharath

KPJAYI NEWSLETTER: APRIL 2009
Greetings from Mysore! This quarterly newsletter is designed to keep the greater Ashtanga community informed with news from the K Pattabhi Jois Ashtanga Yoga Institute.

KPJAYI SCHEDULE AND MOON DATES
Our Mysore shala is open and classes are always in session, unless otherwise noted. Saraswathi will be teaching Mysore-style and led classes. The application to study at KPJAYI can be downloaded at www.kpjayi.org/practice.

There are no classes on the following full or new moon dates:

Thursday, April 9 (full)
Friday, April 24 (new)
Sunday, May 10 (full)
Saturday, May 24 (new)
Sunday, June 7 (full)
Monday, June 22 (new)

Please also note that our shala will be closed from Monday, December 14, 2009 until Saturday, January 9, 2010. There will be no teaching during this period. KPJAYI will reopen on Sunday, January 10, 2010. Student registration will begin a few days earlier.

R. SHARATH’S 2009 TOUR DATES
Please check www.kpjayi.org for further details and registration information.

ISLAMORADA
Friday, April 10 & Saturday, April 11
Registration open:  www.kpjayi.org/islamorada.html

NEW YORK CITY

Week 1:  Monday, April 20 – Friday, April 24
Week 2:  Monday, April 27 – Friday, May 1
Registration open:  www.kpjayi.org/new-york.html

SAN FRANCISCO
Week 1:  Monday, May 4 – Friday, May 8
Week 2:  Sunday, May 10 – Friday, May 15
Registration open:  www.kpjayi.org/san-francisco.html

TORONTO
Week 1:  Wednesday, May 20 – Monday, May 25
Registration open:  www.sharathtoronto.com

COPENHAGEN
Week 1:  Sunday, August 2 – Friday, August 7
Registration:  www.astanga.dk

HELSINKI
Week 1:  Sunday, August 9 – Friday, August 14
Week 2:  Sunday, August 16 – Friday, August 21
Registration open:  www.astanga.fi/sharath

LONDON
Week 1: Sunday, August 23 – Friday, August 28
Registration:  www.astangayogalondon.com

BALI
Week 1: Monday, October 19 – Saturday, October 24
Registration open:  www.yogamoves.com.au

SYDNEY
Week 1:  Tuesday, October 27 – Sunday, November 1
Week 2:  Tuesday, November 3 – Sunday, November 8
Registration:  www.yogamoves.com.au

GOA
Week 1:  Sunday, December 13 – Friday, December 18
Week 2:  Sunday, December 20 – Friday, December 25
Week 3:  Sunday, December 27 – Friday, January 1, 2010
Registration:  www.yogagoa.com

SHRI K PATTABHI JOIS CHARITABLE TRUST
The KPJ Trust was set up in honor of Guruji’s 90th birthday to improve the lives of economically disadvantaged families and children, undeserved communities and the environment. We see this work as a great opportunity to give back to the local community in Mysore and India in general, and thank all of our supporters. 

To learn how you can contribute your time and other resources to worthy charitable causes in Mysore, please visit www.kpjtrust.org or send an email to info@kpjtrust.org.

REFLECTION
“Students should have faith in their guru and the yoga practice, then only the jnana (knowledge) will flow to us.” — R. Sharath