Live from India (mysore blogs, gettem while they’re hot)

Finding the Strawberry:

Tales of an ashtanga midwife-to-be

…There is a lot that I never imagined possible that has happened on this trip. Unfortunately, I dont think that it would all translate in a blog. I have had numerous “ah-ha” moments and really grown in both my practice and in my spirit...

A Second Dose of Ashtanga from Mysore

…So, here I am, milling around waiting to wander down to the shala to do the only part of the Mysore routine that I really, really don’t like doing. For a led class, it’s prudent to arrive very early, at least 45 minutes, and wait on the steps with all the other people in your group. This pretty much assures you of a reasonable space i.e. not on the stage or, God help me, in the washroom as happened last year…

Queen of the East Village:

My home town is calling me back

…Ya, ya… not five minutes after I’d gotten under the net & into bed last night, at 8pm, the power went. Fuck YOU Mysore! I said. I got up & lit a candle & incense. For some reason, I always do this when the power goes at night. You’ve gotta take periodic cold showers too and readjust the pony tail to top of, rather than back of, head…


Insideowl

…Depth at the expense of complexity? I dunno. But my friends the hashtangis are a warning to me: empty mind not same as quiet mind.

The last few days I have fumbled around for the off switch and found it, gotten back in to work. It seems my subconscious is willing to get behind that decision, more or less. That said, I love a little steam of devotional babble. Maybe there is something to the notion of praying without ceasing…

Ashtanga Journal

…he said “you come to Intermediate led class this week”! I could not believe my ears, I was so excited and this was so unexpected! After Chakra Bandhasana and a squash, I grabbed my mats and walked to the changing room for finishing postures…. After doing the finishing postures, resting and sitting for a while, I was already doubting myself, “did i hear correctly, did he really say that, did he really mean that I come to Sunday intermediate led?”…

Leave a Reply

