Field Trip: Genny Kapuler

For anyone interested in Iyengar-style yoga, or really just great yoga instruction in general, the name Genny Kapuler is likely to be familiar.

In the event it isn’t… rush over to one of her classes this instant!

I decided to spend my Friday morning in one of the classes she teaches out of her large loft space in Soho.  I left myself plenty of time to make sure I found the space (it’s easy to find).  But I forgot that my wallet was empty of cash which meant finding a bank machine (I think Genny’s studio is probably the only business left in Soho that doesn’t accept credit cards).  This task proved less simple than I had imagined.  In fact the lead time I had left myself evaporated in a wash of frustration.  J. Crew: check.  Boutiques galore: check. Starbucks: check.  Everything you could buy but no ATM.  (JIC you find yourself in my position, try the delis on Prince Street, just west of West Broadway).

I finally made it with cash in hand to the building on the corner of Wooster and Houston Street. Here’s another tip for first timers: take the stairs, even though it’s a 5th floor walk-up.  Anyway, even though I was kind of late, Genny was accommodating.  Clothes and shoes were strewn about the living quarters of the giant loft.  The studio section is large enough to hold many students practicing, yet it has a homey feel that clearly sets it apart from a regular studio.

Class was fantastic of course.  Genny’s experience shines through in all her decisions, and her knowledge and passion for the anatomy are the underlying thrust of her teaching style.  I was moved by her clear and powerful voice, and brilliant directives.  The few hands on adjustments I received were clear and displayed the economy of motion that only experience can bring.  Needless to say, glancing around the crowded room I caught the faces of many of my teachers. It’s so inspiring how to see how after so many years, great teachers and practitioners like Genny keep finding more.

I exited into the rainy morning, feeling amazing.  How could this be the same guy who was cursing on the street a couple of hours earlier?

2 responses to “Field Trip: Genny Kapuler

  1. Oh, thank you for this! I love Genny and everything about her. No gimmicks, no games, no “I’m fabulous because….” Not even a sign. Just yoga. She’s truly one of yoga’s (and new york’s) best kept secrets.

  2. anne taylor

    It took me a year from the first time I called Genny, to actually make it to one of her classes – impossible for me to believe after the fact. Ever since that time (several years later)I have been her faithful student. She is extraordinarily kind and wise in a way that is truly inspiring. My boyfriend is a Gennyphile and a Buddhist meditator and we both acknowledge our shared attachment to her extraordinary presence as a teacher and a human being. I feel lucky to have Genny for my teacher and recommend her to my students and friends alike. She is a subtle gem in the NY yoga community.

Leave a Reply

