Daily Archives: February 26, 2009

Are you guys yogis? Yoga Dork strikes again!

Originally saw the report at Yoga Dork, of course. Elephantbeans was there…(we have people everywhere)

Great Hair Cut: Delilah Salon

posted by Unsinkablemoo

Head on out to Park Slope and the Delilah Salon for a terrific and affordable hair cut.

I was in desperate need for a cut and color so I googled online looking for an inexpensive fix.  I checked out some of the student cuts in the city but kept being rescheduled by my would-be apprentice stylist.  I ran into a friend and she recommended the Delilah Salon.

With 58 reviews on google it has almost a perfect 5 star rating.  I called on a Monday and got the first appointment on Wednesday with Leila, the salon’s owner.  She was friendly and on time and sat me down for my consultation.  I wanted to add low lights into my highlighted and bleached hair so when it grew out my natural color wouldn’t look so drastic.  She gave me a better recommendation and we talked hair cut.  Then she put in the foils.  While my hair processed she took two walk in hair cuts.  By the time they were done so was my color.  She rinsed it out and it looked awesome.  Just what I had in mind.

She cut it wet and then blew it dry.  It is one of my favorite cuts and especially for a low price of $115 (two color partial highlight and cut).  I gave her a big tip and am already scheming for my next hair cut with Leila.

Delilah Salon
234 4th Avenue between Union Street & President Street
718 – 797 – 2690

Blog of the Day: Living Breathing Yoga

posted by ebeans

“Wandering yogis” Jeff and Harmony Lichty don’t often post, but when they do, it is worth the read.  Going with the theory that quality is more important than quantity, each post at Living Breathing Yoga is a well though out article on various topics relating to practice.  Yes, they are Ashtanga teachers and practitioners, but the ideas they discuss can be applied to any practice.

From “The Spirit of the Practice”

…It is easy for our yoga practice to become some habitual activity that we get up and just fall into each morning instead of a tool for spiritual growth. The question we must ask ourselves is how can we tell if our practice has become some kind of habitual ritualized routine rather then a spiritual discipline, and how do we find the original inspiration for our practice if we feel it has been lost? read more

the story of stuff

posted by freebean

Despite the alluring sales and cheap clothing – this fascinating 20-minute look at the materials economy will make you think twice about how and why you are spending your hard earned bucks.

the story of stuff



A great book to read is No Logo by Naomi Klein (see if your library has a copy!).