Don’t fuck with my yoga (your nasty feet)

Sarah Miller at Elephant Journal brings up some interesting questions about the nature of mindfulness and its extension from internal to external manifestation.

Example:  Does it matter if some jerk steps on my yoga mat?

Answer:  There is no answer.  The practice is in the practice.

Questions:
1.  Is mindfulness being aware that someone is stepping on your yoga mat?
2.  Is being aware that someone is stepping on your mat a moment of you stepping out of pratyahara (sense withdrawal)?
3.  Is noticing a foot the act of labeling?  Is deciding it is bad a judgement?
4.  Why is it bad?  Cleanliness?  Cultural? Spiritual reasons?  Aren’t all those just samskaras?
5.  In deciding that something is bad, at what point is it the practitioner’s responsibility to experience, feel, or act?
6.  In acting, is this an expression of truth?
7.  What is the point of practice?  Pratyahara?  Mindfulness?  Truth?  Peace?

My take:
It is rude and disgusting (yes a judgment) to step on someone else’s yoga mat because their face rests there.  Is it that hard to step around?  The judgement does bring a bit of un-peace and it is based on samskaras, so to keep my peace, I try to just be compassionate and spread the word in my own way about your icky feet.  Interestingly, when teachers step on the mat, it is kind of okay…must be the whole lotus feet thing.

posted by ebean

3 responses to “Don’t fuck with my yoga (your nasty feet)

  1. LOL- my mat is my space. my mat is my space.
    it even annoys me when teachers who are walking through the class step on my mat…. i try to let it go… hah.

  2. I don’t mind people walking on my mat at all. Or using it, even, if we’re doing partner work or some such where relocating would disrupt the flow or what we’re doing or the class.

    I’ve not caught anything disgusting so far and I’ve been at it for several years. Statistically, you’re probably far more likely to pick something up from a door handle.

  3. I’d like to add that I’m aware others don’t share my sensibilities and therefore make a point of avoiding other people’s mats unless invited, in much the same way as I avoid crowding people’s personal space in all situations.

Leave a Reply

